Nefesh B’Nefesh honors 6 outstanding olim


Nefesh B’Nefesh this week honored six recipients of the 2016 Sylvan Adams Nefesh B’Nefesh Bonei Zion Prize, during a Knesset ceremony in Jerusalem.

NBN Co-Founder and Executive Director Rabbi Yehoshua Fass called the recipients “yet another example of the magnitude in which Anglo olim are ingrained within Israeli society.”

The prize recognizes Anglo olim who helped Israel by encapsulating the spirit of modern-day Zionism and contributing significantly to the state in science and medicine; community and non-profit; education; entrepreneurship and technology; art, culture and sports; and IDF and national service young leadership.

The honorees are:

•Professor Howard (Chaim) Cedar, Professor of Developmental Biology and Cancer Research at Hebrew University in the field of Science and Medicine

•Estelle Friedman, Director of Production of Israel Education Television in the field of Culture, Sports and Arts

•Barbara Levin, Founder of the Tali school sytem in the field of Education

•Dr. Rachel Levmore, Rabbinical Court Advocate & Director of the Agunah and Get-Refusal Prevention Project in the field of Community and Non-Profit

•Scott R. Tobin, General Partner of Battery Ventures in the field of Entrepreneurship and Technology

•IDF Staff Sgt. (res.) Sahar Elbaz in the field of IDF and National Service Young Leadership Award

Moshe Arens received a Lifetime Achievement Award for his contribution to shaping and impacting Israel through diplomacy and dedicated Hasbarah efforts on behalf Israel.